World’s Strangest

Your source for the strangest things around!

The Five Stages of Star Wars Grief

Will Carlough grew up with Star Wars (as did many of the internet generation) and was an avid fan. He discusses the process of recovery in an essay at Slate.

In high school, I read more Star Wars novels than I did regular books—somewhere around 15—and I own three copies of each of the films’ soundtracks. I even won an award from almighty Lucasfilm itself for the hours I spent making a Star Wars fan movie.

It’s been a rough dozen years for us Star Wars fans. The release of The Phantom Menace split the community in half, the gushers (people who loved it) and the bashers (people who didn’t). If you can’t tell from my equating fandom with alcoholism, I am a basher. Each of the next two movies, Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith, was worse than the last, and it became increasingly hard to identify as a fan. After all, the whole franchise was based on six feature films, and I hated half of them (and only sort of liked Return of the Jedi).

Read how each of the stages: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance, relate to his continuing recovery from Star Wars fandom. Link

Post Metadata

May 18th, 2011

Stranger to the World


Leave a Reply