World’s Strangest

Your source for the strangest things around!

Ig Nobel and Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize committee has announced the 2010 Nobel Prize laureates for Physics. The honor will be shared by Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov “for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene“. However, this is not the first physics prize for Andre Geim.

Congratulations to Andre Geim, new Nobel Prize winner in physics. He becomes the first to win, as an individual, both a Nobel Prize (this year, together with Konstantin Novoselov, for experiments with the substance graphene) and an Ig Nobel Prize (in the year 2000, shared with Sir Michael Berry, for using magnets to levitate a frog).

You can see a video of the levitating frog at Improbable Research. Link

Post Metadata

October 5th, 2010

Stranger to the World


Leave a Reply